Future Faculty Teaching Institute

The Center for Excellence in Teaching (CET) announces the CET Future Faculty Teaching Institute: a training program for USC graduate students intended to prepare future faculty to pursue excellence in their teaching, beginning with exposure to an essential background in effective pedagogy. Participants who complete a minimum of 12 sessions will be awarded a certificate of completion.

The Future Faculty Teaching Institute is comprised of a series of 14 lunch workshops.  Participants may elect to attend either the Monday or Tuesday cohort for Fall 2018.

Please sign up here to enroll in the Monday Cohort, meeting 12:00 noon-1:00 pm.

Monday, August 20
Monday, August 27
Monday, September 10
Monday, September 17
Monday, September 24
Monday, October 1
Monday, October 8
Monday, October 15
Monday, October 22
Monday, October 29
Monday, November 5
Monday, November 12
Monday, November 19
Monday, November 26

Please sign up here to enroll in the Tuesday Cohort, meeting 12:30-1:30 pm.

Tuesday, August 21
Tuesday, August 28
Tuesday, September 11
Tuesday, September 18
Tuesday, September 25
Tuesday, October 2
Tuesday, October 9
Tuesday, October 16
Tuesday, October 23
Tuesday, October 30
Tuesday, November 6
Tuesday, November 13
Tuesday, November 20
Tuesday, November 27

The workshops are designed to provide future faculty:

  • Best practices for higher ed course design
  • Essential pedagogy for teaching and learning
  • Strategies for developing an inclusive learning environment
  • Practical techniques to enhance student learning
  • Opportunities for collaborative peer review 

A sampling of specific workshop topics include:

  • Facilitating challenging discussions
  • Incorporating strategic questioning
  • Enhancing student-instructor and student-student interaction
  • Designing for multimedia instruction
  • Creating effective assessment practices