WE CAN HELP: Faculty Mentoring Faculty

As CET continues to offer trainings, consultations, and online resources, we have been overwhelmed by the number of faculty who regularly teach online who have reached out to us to offer their help. These are faculty who want to support their colleagues in making the transition to online teaching during the remote teaching period. As a result, CET has created this list of faculty who have volunteered their help. If you would like support from colleagues who teach online, please contact the faculty of your choice via the email listed below.

NameEmailProgramSchool/CollegeOnline Instruction Specialty
Melinda Thomasmelindat@usc.eduMaster's in Human Resources ManagementBovard CollegeZoom functions (breakout rooms; polling; chat; whiteboarding; etc.); student engagement; facilitating online discussions; instructional design - content (development in Canvas); innovative instructional strategies; faculty support and development; tools for student collaboration / group work
Solange Charasscharas@usc.eduMaster's in Human Resources ManagementBovard CollegeZoom functions; on-line student engagement/discussions; instructional design and migration to on-line courses. Optimizing use of technology in the classroom setting
Nicholas Clementsnaclemen@usc.eduMaster's in Human Resources ManagementBovard CollegeZoom functions (breakout rooms; polling; chat; whiteboarding; etc.); student engagement; facilitating online discussions; instructional design -- enhancing student engagement online, online case methods and discussion, tools for student collaboration
Susan Bergsusanber@usc.eduMaster's in Human Resources ManagementBovard CollegeZoom functions; interactive student engagement; facilitating online discussions; instructional design - especially how to convert experiential activites to online approaches; innovative, connected and fun instructional strategies; 8 years experience conducting courses online; use of ipad whiteboarding to write in real time and avoid static PPT overload
Trina Hoeflinghoefling@usc.eduMaster's in Human Resources ManagementBovard CollegeEngaging students virtually through discussions, assignment feedback. Planning for Zoom sessions that are power-packed and engaging; asking good questions that can be discussed in breakout rooms unsupervised; polling. Deciding what to do live, what to "package" in a recorded session or other creative means, shifting from classroom group activity to online peer groups when possible. Basic Canvas course build out and rubrics, group set-ups, setting up a 24-7 Virtual Office for students.
Sharoni Littleslittle@usc.eduBusiness CommunicationBusinessInclusive pedagogy; Curricular design and conversion from in-person to online courses; Student engagement strategies, including small groups, use of video, case studies, student-led class discussions, in-class debates, guest speakers, and experiential activities; Assessing student learning outcomes; Assessing student engagement; Differentiated teaching strategies for diverse students; Classroom management. Effective faculty communication, tone, and style.
Kate Havenskhavens@usc.eduPhysical therapyDivision of Biokinesiology and Physical TherapyZoom breakout rooms and collaborative documents, interactive ideas for student live sessions
Jennifer Bernsteinbernstjm@usc.eduSpatial ScienceDornsife College of Letters, Arts and SciencesOnline pedagogy, use of social media, humanizing online learning
Rob Filbackfilback@usc.eduTeaching English to Speakers of Other LanguagesEducationPromoting discussion in the live class time, Facilitating active learning in the live class. Setting up student discussion groups outside of class time. Creative ways to flip traditional "in class student presentation." Flipping your instruction in general. Basic class prep - structuring the class agenda that is engaging via slides and jumping around to other docs or views, etc.
Artineh Samkiansamkian@usc.eduTeacher EducationEducationUse of Google Drive and collaborative documents during class time. Flipped instruction with pre-recorded PPT lectures (easy to do on your own without IT support)
Margo Pensavallepensaval@usc.eduTeacher EducationEducationZoom functions. Discussion strategies, break out groups, screen sharing etc.
Deborah Glynndglynn@marshall.usc.eduManagement and OrganizationSchool of Business

Bovard College
Online classroom facilitation - Zoom functions (breakout rooms; polling; chat; whiteboarding; etc.); student engagement; facilitating online discussions; instructional design - content development for the virtual classroom
Emmy Minemmymin@usc.eduTeaching English to Speakers of Other LanguagesSchool of EducationZoom functions (sharing screen, breakout session, recording, polls), using Google docs and google presentations, interactive online teaching
Helena Selihelena.seli@rossier.usc.eduEducational LeadershipSchool of EducationZoom functions. Use of Google Drive during class time. Flipped instruction with pre-recorded PPT lectures
Kim Hirabayashihirabaya@usc.eduOrgainzational Change and LeadershipSchool of EducationUsing flipped instruction; Blackboard (creating different types of assessments, gradebook set-up and use, discussion board, setting up content folders ); Zoom functions (including using chat), whole-class vs. breakout discussions;
Jan Nisslynissly@usc.eduSocial WorkSchool of Social WorkZoom functions (creating live sessions, screen sharing, Whiteboard, breakout rooms, polls); managing students' anxiety
Seth Kurzbankurzban@usc.eduSocial WorkSchool of Social WorkTips for relaxing and engaging students, tips and for getting student participation, use of polls, use of Whiteboard and sharing screens,
Laura Cardinallcardina@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkLarge and small classes (lecture and process oriented); online pedagogy; break out sessions; active participation using whiteboard, multimedia, screen share, etc.; knowledgeable about Zoom settings
Devon Brooksdevon.brooks@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkZoom and Adobe Connect settings and features; classroom and instructional planning; student engagement; online decorum.
Jen Pargajparga@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkClass prep, converting in-person lecture to maximize online synchronous time, maximizing content delivery, assist recording lectures, navigating Zoom.
Murali Nairmuralina@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkLarge and small classes (lecture and process oriented); knowledgeable about Zoom settings, in teaching.
Rebecca Rasmussenrsrasmus@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkEngaging students in a virtual environment. Use of Break Out Rooms.
Stephanie Wanderswander@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkCollaboration and breakout groups, brainstorming activities, Google docs/google suite for student collaboration
Aimee Odetteaodette@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkConnecting with students, creating a safe and engaging learning environment for all. Whole class discussions, breakout rooms, presentations, etc.
Estela Andujoeandujo@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkOnline pedgagogy involving active learning versus traditional lecture. Focus on pedagogy and not platform. Use of Power Points to lecture; student presentations. How to set classroom norms and increase learner engagement via group, mix discussion, collaboration, and experiential exercises.
Ruth Cislowskicislowsk@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkZooom, break out rooms, sharing screen (powerpoint) presentations, class activities, polling
Dorothy Nieto Manzernietoman@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkZoom, breakout rooms, screen sharing, use of videos,
Louis Heitheit@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkZoom, breakout rooms, screen sharing for power points/pdfs and other presentations, use of videos, facilitating on-screen student group/class discussions
Ruth Whiteruthwhit@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkBreakout rooms, white board, sharing screen, chatbox, engaging students, classroom decorum
Tory Coxtorycox@usc.eduSocial WorkSocial WorkZoom functions, particularly engaging students/attendees.
Greg Klinggkling@marshall.usc.eduAccountingBusinessOnline pedagogy, Zoom functions (breakout rooms, polling, chat, whiteboarding, etc.), student engagement, facilitating online discussions, creating an effective online classroom experience for faculty and students, instructional design, Blackboard (creating the classroom structure, assessments, discussion boards, etc.), flipped classroom instruction with asynchronous materials and videos.
Shannon Gibsonsmgibson@usc.eduPolitical Science and International Relations (POIR)
DornsifeBlackboard (course organization, creating modules, online exams with Respondus), Zoom functions (breakout rooms, polling, chat, screen share, whiteboard), Google functions (documents for group exercises, forms for student polling, sheets for sign ups), facilitating student participation and engagement, flipped classroom, active learning (structuring debates, simulations, guest speakers, case studies)